Church Leadership


Darin Lund – Lead Pastor

I have the wonderful privilege of being the lead pastor of Grand Marais Evangelical Free Church! My beautiful wife and I love going on adventures with our three boys, which often includes: camping, swimming, catching bugs, climbing trees, and on the rare occasion drinking coffee in a quiet home. I am passionate about connecting the gospel of Jesus Christ to all of life, and I believe the local church as God designed it is the hope of the world!

• M.Div from Trinity Evangelical Divinity School

• Start Date: June 2024

Andrea Patten – Deaconess of Youth Ministry

Andrea and Jake are both passionate about enriching the lives of youth in the community by teaching the gospel and other biblical principles, connecting youth with mature, responsible adults, and working together on building healthy, intentional relationships.  They have both worked in camp ministry and continue to seek out challenging and encouraging activities and experiences for the youth in this program.  They are so happy and encouraged to be part of the body of Christ, witnessing his presence in the lives of the kids here, and look forward to meeting new participants in the days ahead. 

Deborah Veit – Ministry Coordinator/Deaconess of Fellowship

Deb grew up in central Pennsylvania and graduated from Penn State with a degree in Environmental Education. She first arrived on the North Shore back in 2001 for a college internship at Grand Portage National Monument where she met her future husband, Steve. The couple settled in Grand Marais full time in the fall of 2005 and started attending the church here at the same time. Deb has been actively involved in the church’s Youth Group Ministry, Women’s Bible Study, and meets regularly with high school students for Sunday morning Bible studies. She and Steve are the proud parents of their son Nathan and cat Oliver.


Bruce Dahlman
Bob Evans
Richard Horen
Mark Laky
Joshua Lindstrom
Steve Veit – Elder Chair

Deacons & Deaconesses

Sheryl Martinson – Deaconess of Children’s Education
Aaron Sjogren – Deacon of Facilities
Tyler Dean – Deacon of Finance
Mark Laky/Elder, Interim Deacon of Missions
Laura Laky – Deaconess of Worship